It is unlawful for an individual to be denied access or to receive poor service or lesser quality accommodations because of his or her race, color, national origin, sex, pregnancy, disability, familial status or religion.
It is against the law for an individual to be denied access or to receive poor service or lesser quality accommodations because of his or her race, color, national origin, sex, pregnancy, disability, familial status or religion.
Floridians and visitors to the state may file a complaint when:
- Not given full and equal access to the goods and services of restaurants, hotels and motels, gasoline stations, theaters and certain other public places or accommodations without discrimination or segregation.
- Certain private clubs discriminate in how they accept or deny members (under limited circumstances).
- When the alleged discriminatory act occurred in the last 365 days.
Call, write or visit the Commission within 365 days of the date in which the alleged act of discrimination occurred and describe the situation you feel was discriminatory.
An experienced Intake Counselor will listen, advise and assist you accordingly.
You can download the following questionnare to assist you.
Public Accommodations Complaint Questionnaire
Answer all of the following questions typing your response in the space given. For questions that ask you to choose an answer from the list, click the box next to the answer you would like to select and a checkmark will appear.
When you’ve finished the questionnaire, check to be sure all questions have been answered and then print the document.
After the form is printed, please mail or fax it to:
The Florida Commission on Human Relations
4075 Esplanade Way Room 110
Tallahassee, FL 32399
The questionnaire must be received by the Florida Commission on Human Relations within 365 days of the date of the alleged violation.
TAQ Public Accommodation 05092016.doc 141.50 kB
What to expect after you file a complaint:
Filing a complaint – You must file a complaint with the Commission within 365 days of the date the alleged act of discrimination took place. Once your complaint is processed, you will be advised of your rights and responsibilities.
Mediation – This is a process in which an impartial person helps parties resolve their dispute prior to a lengthy investigation.
Investigation – If the dispute cannot be resolved through mediation, the Commission will conduct a full investigation that is objective, timely and efficient.
Determination – A determination is issued indicating whether or not there is adequate evidence of discrimination.
Notification – You will be notified of the Commission’s determination and will receive instructions on how to seek the remedies provided for under the law, which could result in a hearing or civil action in a court of law.