Skip to Main Content. Please Contact Us if there is anything we can do to improve the Accessibility of this site.
  • Search:


Home / Complaints / Florida's Whistle-blower's Act

Florida's Whistle-blower's Act

It is against the law to retaliate against state employees who blow the whistle.

Who Can File?

Any person applying for work or working for a state agency (as defined in 216.011, F.S.) who has been retaliated against for disclosing protected information may file a complaint.

The complaint must be filed no later than 60 days after the prohibited personnel action (e.g., termination of employment).

The Commission may refer your complaint to another agency (Governor?s office, Inspector General, etc.), as applicable.

If you have any questions regarding the filing of a Whistle-blower complaint or a Whistle-blower Retaliation complaint, please call FCHR for assistance.

How To File?

Call, write or visit the Commission within 60 days of the date in which the alleged act of discrimination occurred and describe the situation you feel was discriminatory.

An experienced Intake Counselor will listen, advise and assist you accordingly.

You can download the following questionnare to assist you.

Whistle-blower's Questionnaire

Please fax or mail the completed questionnaire to the Office of Customer Service (fax and address are listed on the last page of the questionnaire). An email option will be added soon. The Office of Customer Service will complete a charge form, as applicable, for your signature and mail it to you at the address listed on the questionnaire.

The Process

What to expect after you file a complaint:

Filing a complaint – You must file a complaint with the Commission within 365 days of the date the alleged act of discrimination took place. Once your complaint is processed, you will be advised of your rights and responsibilities.

Mediation – This is a process in which an impartial person helps parties resolve their dispute prior to a lengthy investigation.

Investigation – If the dispute cannot be resolved through mediation, the Commission will conduct a full investigation that is objective, timely and efficient.

Determination – A determination is issued indicating whether or not there is adequate evidence of discrimination.

Notification – You will be notified of the Commission’s determination and will receive instructions on how to seek the remedies provided for under the law, which could result in a hearing or civil action in a court of law.